TFS Build for AX- Sync time out error

 

I am starting my first  blog on the issue which I faced during build process – where the DB sync step was giving time out error .
Since I had the complete XPO with me (which had all the changes from TFS) , I tried manual import to figure out the issue – it is because of recent changes made to one of the tables.syncerror
Reason being the field type was changed in the table from String to RefRecId (field name was same )and SQL was still referring to the old datatype.You can cross check by browsing SQLDictionary table and the field in the table would still be have the old datatype.
Temporary solution is to drop the table from SQL and sync again. But in the next build , you will face the same issue.This is because the  build process would drop the database and create again to restore the staging DB(which has all the changes in previous build) .
So what is the solution for this ?
There are two workarounds:
  1. Delete the table from TFS and add it again. This way the table would be as new object in TFS and it brings the latest changes.   Queue a new build and check if you face the issue again. If this is not giving expected result, try the next one
  2. After you do a manual sync, take a back up of the DB and refer it to the staging DB in Build definition. This way when you do the next build, model DB would refer to this database and will have the recent changes.
Hope you found it useful!!!

 

About AnithaEswaran

Hello all, Thanks for visiting my blog. I started this blog to share my learning with Ax members . Since I am from technical background, most of my posts would be from X++. Thanks to my mentor and my colleague Romain who guided and helped me in learning many new concepts in Ax. This instilled confidence in me to handle and troubleshoot complex issues. Feedback wrt to my blog entries are most welcome …
This entry was posted in Ax2012, Dynamics Ax, TFS build and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

