Export/Import/Remove/Audit customized security artifacts

Is there a way to export/import only the customized security objects ? Yes.
Security Configuration form has this feature.
  1. Navigate to Security Configuration and click on ‘Data’ tab. There are two options .SecConfig1 (1)
  2.   Select Export option and all the roles which were customized with new duties/privileges/tables/sub roles will be exported as xml file.  If there are new roles defined, those roles also will be exported.
For example , in the below screenshot , I have added new duties for the standard roles ‘Ledger Accountant’ and ‘LedgerAccounting Supervisor’. On exporting, the role along with its standard artifacts are exported. And the new artifact is listed under the new node named ‘NewObjectList’.
SecurityCOnfig2
3. This xml can be imported in another environment which brings only our customization.
4. Another option ‘Remove Customization‘ in the Data tab removes all the customized security artifacts(Created in UI , not from AOT). After this action is performed, user will be able to  see all the deleted objects in ‘UnPublished Objects’ list.
5. ‘Audit data’ option in Data tab lists the details of all the artifacts like created/modified data time, createdBy/ModifiedBy User,Object Type and its Label.
In the Audit form, it is also possible to compare the objects for any changes in permissions made by the user . This option is available in
SecurityConfig3

About AnithaEswaran

Hello all, Thanks for visiting my blog. I strongly believe in "Knowledge increases by sharing ,not by saving". With that in mind, I started this blog to share my learning with D365FO community. Since I am from technical background, most of my posts would be from X++, Azure integration and other topics. Thanks to my mentor and my colleague Romain Gasnier who guided and helped me in learning many new concepts in Ax. This instilled confidence in me to handle and troubleshoot complex issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.